Skip to content

Academy Elects 14 New Fellows for Class of 2023

The American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (AASWSW) has selected fourteen individuals for induction, recognizing their distinguished accomplishments as scholars, practice, and/or policy leaders dedicated to achieving excellence in high-impact work to advance social good.  The ceremony will be held during the Society or Social Work and Research (SSWR) Conference on January 13, 2023 at the Arizona State University Downtown – a few blocks from the SSWR conference!


Congratulations to our upcoming Class of 2023!  Fellows to be inducted on January 2023 include:


Jennifer Bellamy, PhD MSSW

Professor, Graduate School of Social Work, University of Denver


Yoonsun Choi, PhD, MSSW

Professor, Crown Family of Social Work, Policy, and Practice, University of Chicago


Tonya Edmond, PhD

Interim Co-Dean, Professor of Social Work, George Warren Brown School, Washington University in St. Louis


John Fluke, PhD

Professor, Kempe Center-Department of Pediatrics, University of Colorado School of Medicine, University of Colorado


Andy Frey, PhD

Professor, School of Social Work, University of Missouri

Amelia R. Gavin, PhD

Professor, School of Social Work, University of Washington

Victor Groza, PhD, LISW-S

Grace F. Brody Professor in Parent-Child Studies, School of Applied Social Sciences, Case Western Reserve University


Waldo E. Johnson, Jr., PhD

Professor, Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy, and Practice, Vice Provost, Diversity + Inclusion and Faculty Development, The University of Chicago


Rona L. Levy, MSW, PhD, MPH

Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work, University of Washington


Terry Mizrahi, PhD, MSW

Professor Emeritus, Silberman School of Social Work, Hunter College of the CUNY


Rogério M. Pinto, PhD, LCSW

University Diversity Social Transformation Professor, Berit Ingersoll-Dayton Collegiate Professor of Social Work, Associate Dean for Research and Innovation, Social Work, Professor of Theater and Drama, School of Music, Theater, & Dance, School of Social Work, University of Michigan


Cheryl Regehr, PhD

Professor and Provost, Faculty of Social Work, University of Toronto


Fernando Torres-Gil, PhD

Professor, Director of the Center for Policy Research on Aging, UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs


Darrell Wheeler, PhD, MPH, ACSW

President, State University of New York (SUNY), New Paltz

Back to All News

Meet the Fellows

Support Our Mission

Receive industry updates and our Fellows’ research in your inbox.